HS2 makes new appointments to the board

Last week Transport Secretary, Chris Grayling appointed the Dame Judith Hackitt and Stephen Hughes to the board as non-executive directors (NEDS). Both candidates bring with them a strong set of experience to help guide the construction of the largest infrastructure project in Europe:

Dame Judith Hackitt was the Chair of the Independent Review of Building Regulations and Fire Safety and is Chair of manufacturing trade body Make UK (formerly EEF).

Stephen Hughes is a highly experienced local government leader, having served as Chief Executive of Birmingham City Council for nearly 10 years, as well as previously holding an executive role at Brent Council.

It was also announced that Ed Smith and Roger Mountford were
re-appointed as existing NEDs for a further 3 years. Finally, Andrew Wolstenholme has left the board having served since June 2018.